Story and Theories of the Five Nights at Freddy's Series: An In-Depth Analysis


The Five Nights at Freddy's (FNAF) series is more than just a simple horror game. The mysterious story and theories behind the game are what captivate players' interest. Created by Scott Cawthon, this series has both frightened and intrigued its audience. In this article, we will delve into the series' storyline and popular theories.

Main Storyline of the Series

Five Nights at Freddy's (FNAF 1)

In the first game, players assume the role of a night security guard at a family restaurant called Freddy Fazbear's Pizza. The animatronic characters roam the restaurant at night, and players must watch them through security cameras. Players try to survive until 6 AM without getting caught by these animatronics. The story hints at missing children and spirits trapped inside the animatronics.

Five Nights at Freddy's 2 (FNAF 2)

The second game is a prequel to the first. A new Freddy Fazbear's Pizza location has opened, and players work as a night security guard there. The game features more animatronics and more complex mechanics. Through minigames, players learn more about the children's murders and that the animatronics contain the souls of these children.

Five Nights at Freddy's 3 (FNAF 3)

Set thirty years after the first game, this game takes place at a horror attraction called Fazbear's Fright. The main threat is a decayed animatronic named Springtrap. This game reveals that the "Purple Guy," the murderer, has been trapped inside the Springtrap suit, now seeking revenge.

Five Nights at Freddy's 4 (FNAF 4)

The fourth game takes place in the nightmares of a child tormented by nightmarish animatronics. Players must monitor doors and the closet, using a flashlight to keep the animatronics at bay until morning. The story focuses on events from 1983, particularly a tragic incident known as the "Bite of '83."

Five Nights at Freddy's: Sister Location

In this game, players explore Circus Baby's Pizza World, a new location. Players complete various tasks in an underground facility. The story provides more information about the Afton family and how the animatronics were created. Notably, it reveals the death of William Afton's daughter, Elizabeth, by the animatronic Baby.

Freddy Fazbear's Pizzeria Simulator

This game combines pizzeria management and survival horror elements. Players design and manage their pizzeria while trying to survive the night shift with animatronics lurking in the building. The story focuses on giving the trapped souls within the animatronics a chance to rest.

Five Nights at Freddy's: Help Wanted

A virtual reality game that revisits scenarios from previous games with added elements. The story involves players uncovering the mysteries of Fazbear Entertainment in a more immersive setting.

Five Nights at Freddy's: Special Delivery

An augmented reality game where players face animatronics sent to their real-world location through a mobile device. The story involves a service that delivers animatronics to players' homes.

Five Nights at Freddy's: Security Breach

In the latest installment, players control a boy named Gregory, who is trapped overnight in Freddy Fazbear's Mega Pizzaplex. The game features free-roaming gameplay, with players exploring the environment to avoid animatronics and solve puzzles to escape.

1. The Bite of '83 and The Bite of '87

"The Bite of '83" and "The Bite of '87" are significant events in the FNAF series. The first event involves a child being bitten by Fredbear, leading to a coma. The second event involves an animatronic biting someone, causing severe injuries. Players try to piece together how these events fit into the overall story.

2. William Afton and Purple Guy

William Afton, known as the "Purple Guy," is the main antagonist of the series. He is responsible for the child murders and has trapped souls within the animatronics. Afton eventually becomes trapped in a Springtrap suit, seeking revenge.

3. Souls Trapped in Animatronics

The animatronics in the series contain the souls of missing children. These souls seek revenge through the animatronics. Players try to uncover the identities of these souls and their stories of how they became trapped.

4. The Afton Family

The Afton family is central to the series' storyline. William Afton's children—Michael, Elizabeth, and a third unnamed child—play significant roles. Michael attempts to atone for his father's actions, while Elizabeth was killed by the Baby animatronic.


The Five Nights at Freddy's series is rich with deep stories and complex theories. Players use clues and minigames within the games to solve these mysteries. The world Scott Cawthon created is as intriguing as it is frightening, contributing to the series' popularity.

This article aims to help you understand the intricate story and popular theories of the FNAF series. To gain a deeper understanding, it is recommended to play the games and follow community discussions.

June 28, 2024 at 1:13 PM
June 28, 2024 at 1:17 PM
June 28, 2024 at 1:21 PM
June 28, 2024 at 1:26 PM

About the Author

Developer, Cyber Security Expert , Gamer

Skyness Super Moderator